Day 19: Figure 8 Backwards

Dear Blog Reader,

I’m glad you asked me how I taught Figure 8 Backwards because I had no idea what I was going to write about today! Tomorrow is D-day for our vet adventure and it was good to get distracted by thinking about tricks.

So, figure 8! Backwards! I learned this from Silvia Trkman in puppy school five years ago. It’s a combination of walking backwards and pivoting to left and right heel positions with some luring in between. I don’t know if this is the same way she teaches it now, but it works for me and I like it. As a bonus there is also teaching circling backwards around the handler since this is where our conversation started.

Happy training!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 19: Figure 8 Backwards

  1. Great tutorial! I’ve actually always taught them opposite! Backward circles first, then figure 8 comes for free 🙂

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

