Enjoy The Ride

Like I mentioned in one of my previous posts there are many great things happening right now and I think it would be unfair and ungrateful if I would only focus on troubles when so much awesomeness surrounds me.

Making a plan

Making a plan

A while ago a friend asked me if I have any plans to teach agility since it’s such a big part of my life. “Nooooo” I said, “I have more fun training my own dogs. Teaching people to train their dogs is very different from training dogs myself and I doubt I would get as much joy from teaching people as I do from training dogs.”

Executing the plan!

Executing the plan!

Then we had a Whippet Agility Day and I knew it would be fun to watch other whippets figure out this agility thing, but it was even better than I anticipated! Out of that introduction a mini whippet agility class was born. We meet once a week and enjoy every second of it.

Wheeee!

Wheeee!

I love seeing that they are a bit more engaged with their handlers, a bit more excited and a bit more focused every time. I love seeing handlers getting more coordinated with how they start a session, deliver rewards and end the session. Of course it helps tremendously that they are doing their homework and teaching their whippets my silly little games that we’ll need in class. Our lessons would go much slower without that. It’s fun to see them transition from a “good dog” mindset to agility mindset. Sometimes the rules seem to be reversed (What? You want my dog to pull?), but they’re catching on real quick and so are the whippets. Who would have thought that teaching people to train their dogs could be so rewarding?

Weaves: easiest. obstacle.ever

Weaves: easiest. obstacle.ever

And oh it doesn’t end here. Helena was very kind to let us ride her horse Karma on Saturday. I haven’t been on a horse in years and even back then I only had a few lessons (15 hours maybe?) before my health prevented me from continuing. Saturday was like a dream of a life long lost… I told Helena that I developed a mild apprehension of horses, but for some reason I felt perfectly safe on Karma, like I would know her for a long time. I trusted her. Teja (the instructor) told me that I would remember how to ride once I got up there, but I didn’t really believe her… until I stopped thinking about it, caught Karma’s rhythm and suddenly trotting felt good again. And the best part is my body is still working! Sure I was sore for days, but none of the feeling-like-life-force-was-drained-from-me crap. I bounced right back. Yay!

Tadeja riding a horse for the first time and doing great!

Tadeja riding a horse for the first time and doing great!

In a private conversation with Karma

In a private conversation with Karma

Batman Ears was watching my every move :)

Batman Ears was watching my every move 🙂

What about Ruby’s limping episode? I took him to our PT and she confirmed my first instinct: the toe that got sprained last year is acting up again. But you have to squeeze it just right to get the pain response, which explains why I was unable to reproduce it and why the vet I took him to on Monday didn’t find anything, either.

Life… weird and wonderful, exhilarating and exasperating, magnificent and scary and beautiful… but certainly not boring 😉

Thanks Helena for letting me use your photos!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

