Happy 5th Birthday, Ruby!

IMG_1856
Oh time flies, doesn’t it? I love how you tell me that you would like to sleep in the bedroom and how you snuggle under the covers as I watch movies. I love how you seem to understand so much of what I say even though you don’t agree with much of it. I love how crazy you are about agility even though I often don’t dare to run fast because I know you would run even faster and I’m afraid you wouldn’t be able to handle your body over obstacles. I still get an adrenaline rush every time I run with you. I love how you lure Java away with a toy so that you can have a few moments alone with me. I love how you keep checking on me during walks. You are perfect in so many ways. ❀ Please stay sound and happy!

Photo by Stisnprtisn!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Happy 5th Birthday, Ruby!

  1. Happy birthday beautiful Ruby, Lumen’s kind-of-whippety-soul-brother (kind of soul brother, not kind of whippety because he’s very whippety but only kind of Lumen’s soul brother). You are like a majestic tigerwhippet. It was very fun playing agility with you in Slovenia and I hope we can do it again one day πŸ™‚

    • Tiger-whippet, that’s a new one! Ruby will be prancing around all day telling people his new title πŸ™‚ He says he had a great time with you and if you come again he can show you how to run a whole course πŸ˜‰

      • Oooo, I’d love to run a whole Euro-style course!! Though I’d have to brush up on my Slovenian. πŸ˜‰ when I have some more money I’d love to try and make it onto the Aussie WAO team… and maybe afterwards drop by Slovenia again (depending on where it’s being held that year, haha).
        And he IS a tiger-whippet! Look at his stripes.

        • Allright, it’s a plan! Lu, you better run fast, your mum wants to go to Europe! πŸ˜€

          You don’t really need to know that much Slovenian. You already know cik&cap, then it’s just:
          hop – jump (same cue for all types of jumps, also tyre and long jump)
          skozi – tunnel
          most – dog walk (2o2o)
          guga – teeter
          slalom – weaves (but “weave” will also work)
          tja – flick away from me
          okrog – backside of the jump
          blizu – if you need to pull him past an obstacle

          The rest are English cues (people always laugh that my dogs “speak” English):
          left, right
          “two on” – 2o2o position
          up, up, up – A-frame (running)

          • Ooo, I know lots of those already! Cik/cap obviously, tunnel I know from Silvia, and slalom because we all think it sounds so much prettier when you say “SLALOM SLALOM” than “WEAVE WEAVE!!” and less angry… and Okrog because I did that with Ruby already.
            Well, I can do that. Then it would be a matter of not smashing your dog to pieces… πŸ˜‰

            • See? I knew you won’t have a problem with our cues πŸ™‚
              For some reason I was sure that I was going to screw up Ruby’s weaves so I thought it was super-smart to call it “weave” so I could save “slalom” for when I’m ready to get it right. Well, “weave” turned out just fine, but then I was stuck using a different cue from everyone else and sometimes I found myself saying “slalom” on course just because I heard it so often from others. So when Java came I decided to call it “slalom”. I think Ruby would weave just fine on both cues.

              As for smashing my dog there is a little secret… the more European-y the course, the slower the dog, the safer it is for him. So we’ll make a super twisty course and it will be fine πŸ™‚ I’m just freaking out these days because I’m trying to run A1 stuff with him… I wish I could buy him a full-body armor for his birthday!

              • I forgot to say to your other reply that I don’t think Lu actually needs to run fast for me to get on the team- she wouldn’t be coming with me, Aussies always use borrowed dogs from the host country. I watched a video of this years team just running some courses and Their dogs weren’t blitzingly fast.
                And you’re right about twisty being slower- I can imagine doing A1 stuff you’d want armour for him. That would be pretty cool to see. Like what they put jousting horses in πŸ˜‰

                • I know Lu wouldn’t be coming to Europe… it’s a shame, though! I wonder what Ruby would think of her. He doesn’t have any Aussie friends so he would probably think she’s a BC which means fun times ahead πŸ™‚
                  Good idea about horse armor! Something like this: http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/images/hb/hb_29.151.2,32.69.jpg

                  • I know- it would be way too cool to bring Lu and go hiking in European forests. And Ruby would probably think she’s super fun- most dogs think Lu is pretty fun- she’s always just made friends with anybody. πŸ˜‰ She’s happy to chase or be chased, to wrestle rough or not rough- she’s a good times girl, hahaha. πŸ˜‰
                    And yes! Something like that, or even more majestic like this: http://www.farmersweekly.co.za/img/fwa20131011152457.jpg
                    With the colourful material bits too. πŸ˜‰

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

