Agility Ruby :)

I have been asked whether Ruby does any agility these days. Well yes, he does 🙂

During the summer he looked mostly OK, but there were a few times when his back got tight after activity. Each time I made an appointment with physiotherapist, and he was good for another two weeks, then he got tight again. One month ago I took him to a chiropractor to see if he could find the source of this issue. I was amazed when Ruby relaxed after a few seconds of manipulation. Let me tell you, this is not a dog that relaxes easily. It took quite a while to get him to relax at home and get used to our physiotherapist. And now we were in chiro’s office which Ruby tried to bolt out of at first and yet his face relaxed once he started working on him! Chiropractor said this relaxation was because the pain had stopped. That sounded promising.

The manipulation left Ruby sore for two days, but after that his back became straighter and more relaxed when walking and he never again got tight in this past month. The real test of his back came on Wednesday: jumping sequences at 55cm and weaving closed weaves. There are no tense muscles in his back. YAYYYYYY !!!

It gives me so much joy to see him having fun and not being sore afterwards. 🙂

If Ruby’s past injuries (you can read about them here) have taught me anything then it was to enjoy every moment I have playing agility with him and not be too concerned about the outcomes. Will he compete again? Probably. Will it be this year? Probably not. Our main focus is to keep it easy and build his jumping confidence.

He looked so happy after our last agility session. I guess it’s been a while since he’s been running sequences and he clearly thinks this is better than just doing three jumps 🙂 He will lay on the bed, looking at me adoringly and you can almost see little pink hearts above his head. And the snuggles! I will be working on computer and he will get on my lap, wanting some attention. I love my agility Ruby! 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Agility Ruby :)

  1. Lots of positive thoughts for Ruby!

  2. Pingback: How I Fell In Love With Agility – Bonus Chapter | Ruby The Whippet

  3. What an awesome blog! I enjoy your posts so much, I added you to my Blog list on http://www.dogsbynature.co.za. Pretty soon I’ll be taking my dogs to an agility class to see what they make of it 🙂

    • Thank you! Uh I suppose I should make a list of blogs, too…
      You have beautiful whippie-dogs. Enjoy your agility class 🙂

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

Blog at WordPress.com.

