Visitors From Down Under

Java said she likes Nic

Java said she likes Nic. A lot.

I’m writing a bit late about this, it’s been a hectic week so far and it doesn’t look like it’s going to get any better. This weekend I could barely believe it when I came to a trial in Hrušica and they were really, truly there – Em & Nic of Lumen’s blog fame, no sign of jetlag, and learning to speak Slovenian faster than should be possible. My mind just couldn’t compute that someone who lives on the other side of the globe and I only know over the internetz actually materialized in Slovenia.

We watched great teams DQ on a tricky course and chatted about dogs with Silvia Trkman. (Kudos to Nic for going with Em to agility trial on their honeymoon!) Then Em took Ruby over a few practice jumps. They looked great together!

Em taking Ruby for a spin

Em taking Ruby for a spin. Don’t they look awesome?

It takes a lot to get me on a mountain hike. A lot. Like Aussie visitors who think our white, sharp rocks are really cool. On Sunday the weather report didn’t look nice, but we were brave and went on a hike anyway. We were rewarded with mostly dry weather, a quiet mountain atmosphere and wild cows. Well, not really wild, but that’s how they shall be known henceforth 🙂

Look, the mountains!

Look, mountains!

"Warning: obese whippet swimming in the wrong direction" That's Nic's interpretation of the sign.

“Warning: obese whippet swimming in the wrong direction” That’s Nic’s interpretation of the sign.

We had to leave Ruby in Ljubljana because he somehow burned his pads again 😦 Java got to run in mountain meadows and thought that was great fun, not eat cow poop (I’m glad Ruby was not there to give her the idea!) and recall from a dead fox. Which she did on a second try. Oops, that’s not good enough for me. Who knew dead foxes were more interesting than live birds or chasing another dog? Apparently I have no clue about what’s really important in dog world. So Java got to practice some recalls away from food and toys. Fun times 🙂

On the way up I got a lesson on Australia’s indigenous species. Also learned that species that have a pouch are called Marsupials. For some reason my brain really likes this word and serves it to me several times per day. Marsupials! Marsupials! Marsupials!
Why does it sound like they came from Mars?

Java practicing recalls. Yep, she's that fast.

Java practicing recalls. Yep, she’s that fast.

Em & Nic, you are the first Aussies I ever met and you are awesome! I wish you a lovely remainder of your European tour. Try to limit the adrenaline producing activities from now on 😉 Hopefully some day we will do another hike on round brown rocks on the other side of the globe 🙂

Many thanks to Em & Nic for letting me use their photos of the hike. I was being my usual too-busy-to-take-photos self. Here are some more:

Our little helper

Obviously we needed some help navigating the trail

Dog talk

Dog talk

Under a rock

Under the rock

Categories: Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Visitors From Down Under

  1. Loved this post SO MUCH (mostly cos it was about me/us and I’m self-centered like that). Parts had Nic and I laughing out loud.
    MARSUPIALS. Yep. They’re awesome.

    Also, I’m so glad that we managed to get you out on a hike! Maybe we’ve inspired you to go more often?! Maybe!?!?!
    We do really like your white sharp mountains, though I think that if I lived in Slovenia I’d get sick of all the white pebbles and just want some DIRT. Though maybe your dogs wouldn’t get as muddy as mine. This could be a bonus.
    You’re always welcome in Australia and definitely we’d go for adventures and I’d show you some marsupials, and also some monotremes (there’s one for you to google!), and we’d go walking around brown hills that have some brown rocks but mostly just brown mud and dirt.

    Anyway, it was really, really awesome. When we come back again maybe we can convince you to go on another hike, too. 😉

    • Oh yes it’s nice to have someone write about you… it’s the same thing as with celebrities and newspapers 😉

      I loved our hike! I promise to go on another one if you come around here again 😀 As for going more often… who knows. I do go on forest hikes close to Ljubljana, but for mountains I always seem to have many excuses why I don’t have the time or energy for it. Mud and dirt + round brown rocks = sounds good to me! One day 🙂

      Monotremes: mamals that lay eggs, like platypus and echidna. I learned a new word! And I told my boss how to pronounce Melbourne, just in case he needed it some day 😉

  2. Pingback: feeling dog-sick | Life, iLumenated

  3. Wait, wait, wait, Ruby the Whippet blog is in Slovania? ? ? How did I not know this??? The interwebs are a strange place, where we all sorta live in the same town. Am I right?

  4. Penny

    Emily and Nic look great with Whippets ! It has been facinating to hear about Slovenia and find out that Java is very real, because sometimes I think she might be a mythical creature, she is just too beautiful.

    • Penny I have a great plan. You should become a dog show judge, specializing in whippets. This could save our breed!!

  5. Tammy Moody

    Haa, here I thought you were in England. Great mountains indeed!

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

