Ruby’s Sprained Toe Recovery

As you know Ruby sprained a toe in October 2012. Despite rest and icing the toe just didn’t get better. Every time I let him run free (or even just let him play with Java in the apartment) he hurt the toe again.
Finally a friend recommended a vet who might be able to help us. He didn’t make any promises, but said we could try injecting Hyaluronic acid directly into joint.

This is an account of his recovery in case anyone needs it for reference (feel free to skip to the next paragraph):
Ruby got injections on February 20th, February 27th and March 6th. The vet said that we will see full benefits a week later, on March 13th. After that date we started going for longer leashed walks and I let him play inside without restrictions. Two weeks later I started letting him run a bit on 5m Flexi lead. I gave him a toy and he ran circles around me 🙂 Three weeks after that I let him run free occasionally and also threw toys for him sometimes.

For the last three weeks Ruby has been fetching toys on walks and has stayed sound so I decided he could do a little bit of Java’s Agility Foundations stuff. He loved it, of course 🙂 It’s a great way to get him back into agility after such a long hiatus and build some distance & commitment skills along the way.

There are so many emotions welling up as I think of all the things he will be able to do again… Stay sound, my brindle boy.

Follow your heart
Let your love lead through the darkness
Back to the place you once knew
I believe, I believe, I believe in you

Follow your dreams
Be yourself; an angel of kindness
There’s nothing that you cannot do
I believe, I believe, I believe in you

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Ruby’s Sprained Toe Recovery

  1. Pingback: Ruby’s Running Contacts – 2 Years Later | Ruby The Whippet

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

