Agility Java :)

Don’t worry, we haven’t started real agility training, but every new trick she learns is building some skill or muscle group that she will need for agility. Today we went to agility practice just to hang around and see if she can focus on me. She did really well, and was ready to do some tricks while other dogs ran.

However, I soon grew tired of doing same tricks over and over so when I spotted a cone in a corner I thought perhaps we could do a bit of Cik & Cap. This trick was popularized by Silvia Trkman and is used for teaching dogs to wrap jumps in agility, Cik for wrap to left and Cap for wrap to right. Since the beginning stages are done on the ground it’s safe to teach it to puppies.

Practicing Cik & Cap while another dog was running was quite a gamble: I had to unclip her leash and didn’t know if she will run off to chase the dog or if she will find Cik & Cap fun enough to work with me. Java really surprised me: not only did she not run away, she was BARKING as she wrapped the cone! She was clearly excited that I finally gave her some real work to do 🙂

Of course that made me a bit over-confident, so later she did run off to see the dog running the course 😛 But then again when I called she turned around in the middle of a full-out run, so she gets bonus points for that.

To see what Cik & Cap on the ground looks like, see below for video of Ruby doing this exercise after 4 months of rehabilitation from a shoulder injury. Cik & Cap is at 1:10 mark.

Speaking of Ruby, his sprained toe is doing very well and I can’t wait to be able to let him run freely in another two weeks. He is going to be sooooo happy… and so will I 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Agility Java :)

  1. She’s gonna be the BEST!

    I love Ruby’s Shaun the Sheep. He made that toy look so much more fun than it actually is.

    • Ha ha yes I think she will love agility 🙂
      I had to look up Shaun the Sheep. I never pondered origins of Ruby’s toy, just knew that it’s called Timmy. Now I see it’s a part of a family 😀 Ruby loves that toy because it plays some recorded sounds when he squeezes it, but most of all he was enjoying freedom after four months of leashed walks.

  2. I need to download the Cik & Cap video. Looks great!

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

Blog at WordPress.com.

