Frog Trick

This is a cross post from our YouTube channel. If you already saw the video, feel free to skip down to see the photos.

I was teaching Java to put her head down on cue, but when I noticed that she’s rocking her hips forward as she does this I thought this would be a good way to teach the Frog trick (lying on her belly with hind legs fully extended behind her). She quickly caught on to what I wanted and within three minutes we had a frog! Well, at least with one leg. I shaped extending of the other leg the next day and she got it in just a few clicks. Love my girl!

Here’s what it looks like now:

A look from behind, just for fun 🙂


And some bonus photos of Ruby and Java:


Synchronized.


Such a pretty boy! I love Ruby’s eyes on this photo.


Puppy thinking this posing gig isn’t as much fun as people make it out to be 🙂

Thanks to Mateja for these wonderful photos!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Frog Trick

  1. Penny

    zOMG, I think Lava is so cute I am going to die. Plus you work so nicely together. Awesome combination

  2. Your videos are so professional looking. I love how pushy and food motivated Java looks. I would like to see more of that in Maddie. Sometimes she is too calm.

    • Thanks 🙂 That’s Windows Live Movie Maker. It’s prone to “forgetting” where my files are though, so I had to switch to PowerDirector.
      Java came very food driven (well, except for the first week when she said that kibble isn’t her type of food). I actually worked on creating toy drive a lot more. I always try to play right before training with food to make Java more animated.

Don't be shy - leave a comment!

Blog at WordPress.com.

